PSY-KOI-LOGY

This is My Psychosis

30 Days of Blogging Honesty: Day 09

 

Day 09 — When the cashier gives me this amount of money for change I know it’s too much money to dump in the charity bucket…

This one depends on my mood and how heavy my wallet is for the month or the week at least. There are times when I will just drop a 50php change into the charity bucket -especially, if they are all coins. But when I’m really on a tight budget, I usually do not drop anything above a 20php at least.

I know it might sound like i’m a cheapskate or what but I never have problem giving to charity buckets when I have loose change. Especially when they are just asking for a small token or amount. There’s this charity that my bank is helping and every time a person withdraws money from their ATM machines, he/she is given an option to donate 5php to the charity and I never hesitate to donate every time. However, if the amount of change that is given to me is still pretty much above a hundred or so, I usually keep the hundreds and then dump the rest into the bucket.

I know that it will not make a huge mound of money for charities but my mindset is that in every little amount I can donate each day, it will still be able to accumulate enough to help.

I am not a rich person but if I were… I’ll be a benefactor of several charities at once!

Fortunately, I can make a difference in my own little way and that is whenever our performing group is asked to mount a show or do a series of numbers for a cause free of charge so that the ticket sales will benefit Children’s Hour as well as other organizations that need help.

Doumo!

6 comments on “30 Days of Blogging Honesty: Day 09

  1. Tom Baker
    April 9, 2012

    Good answer. it is great and a good feeling to help others. Tell me about the performing that you do.

    • koisevilla
      April 10, 2012

      We have a local performing group called “Songspell” and we usually do shows with show tunes and Filipino music. We teach kids between 4 to 18 yrs old how to sing, dance and act as well as personality development. It’s a foundation as well.

      Some companies or people who like our shows sometimes get us to partner with their charities… We did one for Children’s Hour before as well as a Cancer Society and a lot more. 🙂

      We’re actually going on a concert tour this April around the USA to bring a taste of home to those who have been living away from the Philippines.

      It’s tiring -doesn’t pay much but actually quite fulfilling 🙂

  2. veehcirra
    April 10, 2012

    Wow, that’s really nice about your group Koi. We all contribute and give to others in our own special ways 🙂

  3. Mariana
    April 10, 2012

    I’m actually not sure how much money that would be, but that’s not really the point.
    That’s a great mindset to have especially since money accumulates. Giving a little bit of money each day can actually end up being a higher total than if you donated a bigger amount just once a year.

    • koisevilla
      April 10, 2012

      my sentiments exactly! And of course, a small amount given from the heart is always something extra than those ppl who give loads of money for publicity

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 9, 2012 by in 30 Days of Blogging Honesty, psyKOIsis and tagged , , , , , , .
