PSY-KOI-LOGY

This is My Psychosis

Naked

I was a bit apprehensive when I went to Manila the other day because I was not able to bring any of my cellular phones with me. We weren’t staying overnight so we had no room and we did not have anybody to leave our phones with. Hence, I went there naked. 

Yes, naked!

In the many years that humanity has been wired, it is a bit disconcerting to not have a phone attached to one of our limbs. One likens phones and gadgets to clothing or a garment and accessory that one cannot leave the house without. We all know and heard about its pros and cons so I won’t elaborate. 

So, one can understand just how unusual it was for me to leave the city without it. How will people contact me? How will I get news from them? How? How? How?

It’s simple.

I can’t. I couldn’t and I wouldn’t. 

There are pay phones but I did not bring any address book with me [as I do not own any] and my memory of numbers is not that reliable. I have a habit of not memorizing or remembering things. Hence, we were doomed…

No, not really. I wasn’t.

It was refreshing really to not be encumbered for a full day. I did not miss my phone one bit…well, except for the chance to take photographs with my Instagram. But it was bearable. I did not have palpitations or separation anxiety. Then, I realized that I can make do without them -at least for a day or two. I’m not sure if I can do it for a full week since my livelihood and career depends on them.

I guess what I’m trying to say is that we all should take a break and detach from our electronic deVICES. We should strip down and be in the nude [figuratively, of course. But if you want to go the extra mile…ohm!] It is a great thing to be able to go back to the basics and just be with people, conversing. Really, truly looking at each other and talking without the lull that checking your phones for messages or calls -bring. 

When’s the last time you’ve had that luxury?

Doumo!

2 comments on “Naked

  1. Tom Baker
    March 23, 2012

    You must have felt so out of sorts! In some circles being naked is a good thing!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 23, 2012 by in psyKOIsis and tagged , , , , , , , , .
